The Academy: 400 Democrat Drive, Frankfort, KY 40601
Phone: 502-695-6720 | Fax: 502-695-9618

Who We Are

The Academy is a school that provides an alternative pathway for students to graduate through a variety of programs.  We are also a contracted day treatment program in conjunction with the Department of Juvenile Justice (DJJ).  Our facility is located within the Franklin County School System and the education is provided by FCS staff.  This facility provides treatment and education for students in 7th thru 12th grades, with an age limit of 18.  All students at the Academy follow the state's minimum graduation requirement.  Students must meet all of Kentucky's mandated courses for graduation. The Academy is on the same schedule as the Franklin County School System with the exception of additional days in the summer.

Local transportation is provided for students by FCS. Students are transported from the two Franklin County High Schools to the Academy .  Students are assigned to the Academy by referrals from courts, CDW's,  and middle and high school referrals.  


Quick facts about the Academy:

  • 22 credits to graduate
  • There is a formal graduation (just prior to other high schools at the end of the school year)
  • Students attend until requirements are met
  • Transportation is provided
  • Students receive a standard high school diploma upon completion
Sarah Vivian, Principal
Jerrie Gunn, Secretary
Dena Hamblin, School Social Worker
James McGuire, School Social Worker
Kimberly Mays, Special Education Teacher
Kasey Tarter, Teacher
Tierelee Logan, Teacher
Joey Thacker, Teacher
Suzanne Haberek, Teacher
Nathan Yandell, Teacher
Michael Gearhart, Teacher
Erin Ford, Instructional Aide
Austin Smith, Instructional Aide
Abbigail Dunn, Instructional Aide
Robin Walls, Instructional Aide
Tonya Dailey, Custodian
Roy Rivers, School Resource Officer


© 2019. Franklin County Public Schools. All Rights Reserved.
School CMS Created by eSchoolView
View text-based website